Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Safe to sous vide in the cryovac?

Options
I can't find a definitive answer.  Is it safe to sous vide in the cryovac packaging.  For example, an Excel brand brisket flat.  Thanks!

Which came first the chicken or the egg?  I egged the chicken and then I ate his leg. 

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,893
    Options
    I'm still a newbie to sous vide but I don't see why not other than you need a larger container and maybe even some type of cover on that vessel to keep from getting a huge electricity bill next month. Please let us know your opinion of your results.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • caliking
    caliking Posts: 18,731
    Options
    Yes it's safe as long as the cryovac is intact. I usually SV in the cryovac because I'm too lazy to rebag it, and because I'm too stingy to rebag it :)

#1 LBGE December 2012 • #2 SBGE February  2013 • #3 Mini May 2013
    A happy BGE family in Houston, TX.
  • SmokeyPitt
    SmokeyPitt Posts: 10,490
    Options
    Thanks guys.  I chickened out and re-bagged it in a food saver but next time I will just use the cryo.  

Which came first the chicken or the egg?  I egged the chicken and then I ate his leg. 

• bweekes
    bweekes Posts: 725
    Options
    Definitely safe to SV in the cryo, but I rarely do it, because I season most things with salt (at least) prior to dropping in the bath. Where I haven't had the need to season, i've just dropped in the cryovac package. 
    Ajax, ON Canada
    (XL BGE, MED BGE, La Caja China #2, and the wife's Napoleon gasser)
  • bweekes