Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help Needed.... Brining Question

Options
So I may or may not have made a boo boo earlier.  I am new to the world of brining.  I ended up making the pioneer woman's brine recipe for one of the turkeys I'm cooking tomorrow and it's currently soaking.  Problem is that it was a previously frozen turkey. Frozen turkeys are typically preserved with a solution of turkey broth, salt and sugar.  Fresh turkeys obviously are not.  My question is:  Are you not supposed to brine previously frozen turkeys?  Is brining only for fresh turkeys?  I'm reading conflicting reviews.  

Comments

• DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Options
    You are fine. Salt in the meat will be an equilibrium thing. You won't get it too salty. Brine on.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • tarheelmatt
    tarheelmatt Posts: 9,867
    Options
    Buddy, I have brined a frozen bird with great results.  This year, I happened to dry brine a frozen bird and it was good too.  

I don't think you'll have an issue.  
    ------------------------------
    Thomasville, NC
    My YouTube Channel - The Hungry Hussey
    Instagram
    Facebook
    My Photography Site
  • johnnyp
    johnnyp Posts: 3,932
    Options
    Disclaimer:  I am not an authority on this.

.....but good sense tells me that as long as you keep the salt levels lower, you'll be ok
    XL & MM BGE, 36" Blackstone - Newport News, VA