Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Double smoking a ham?

Options
I'm relatively new to cooking on the egg.  I got it first part of September.  So far I've cooked hamburgers, steak, sausage links, and chicken breasts on it. 

I want to try smoking a ham for Thanksgiving.  A couple of weeks ago, I practiced smoking by smoking a couple of whole chickens.  It totally ruined drip pan and made my egg black inside.  I used apple wood chunks.

Now I want to double smoke a ham for Thanksgiving.  Has anybody here done this and have any suggestions on how to go about doing this?  Temps, preparation, length of time, etc...

Thanks,
J.

Comments

• slovelad
    slovelad Posts: 1,742
    Options
    I have been curious about this as well
  • Tinyfish
    Tinyfish Posts: 1,755
    Options
    My kamado is black inside too. I mainly cook at lower temps so mine stays nice and black.

Sorry never cooked a ham but I'm sure you will get some good advice. 
  • Grillmagic
    Grillmagic Posts: 1,600
    edited November 2015
    Options
    Most hams are fully cooked, so essentially you're just reheating them, take them to 140 IT indirect at 350 and you should be good to go. Use what ever wood you like for smoke (Apple seems  most popular for pork)
    Charlotte, Michigan XL BGE
  • RedSkip
    RedSkip Posts: 1,400
    Options
    ^ +1
    Large BGE - McDonald, PA
  • buzd504
    buzd504 Posts: 3,824
    Options
    You're egg is black inside?  It's ruined!
    NOLA
  • theyolksonyou
    Options
    Egret ham. Do a search on the forum, do the cook, thank me later. 
  • RRP