Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Gonna work thanksgiving. Need advice on minimax cook.

Options
MaC122
MaC122 Posts: 797
edited November 2015 in EggHead Forum
So I'm a firefighter and we work 24 hours on 48 hours off. I decided to work thanksgiving for a fellow buddy so he can be with his family. Its a small station with only 2 of us. I guess my question is....what should I cook? I was thinking a standing rib roast.  I'm open to anything.
St. Johns County, Florida

Comments

• Braggart
    Braggart Posts: 238
    Options
    I've had the most success spatchcocking a chicken on the MMax.    Quick, easy, bullet proof.   

I use a woo/stone/drip pan combo.   Cook indirect at 400F.  45 mins.  Tent under foil for 5-10 mins.  Dinner for 2. 

If you have access to a gasser, a combo of yams, squash, garlic pcs, all tossed in olive oil, s&p, spread over a tray with parchment paper makes a a quick side as well.   Just watch the heat (low around 300F) and stir frequently. 

My nickel (used to be 2 cents, but we got rid of the penny.  Everyone else rounds up...)

B
    Large BGE
    MMax BGE
    Weber gasser
    3 Dogs
    No neighbours 
    Living in Canada's bush
  • bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    Options
    Standing rib roast YES!  It's such a treat!  A few different options on whether more garlic, more horseradish or Rosemary.  Search recipes and cook it!  Such an amazing treat brother! And, thank you for all you do!
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • northGAcock
    northGAcock Posts: 15,164
    Options