Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Replacing the gasket after just eight months

Options

I am a relative newbie, only having had my Egg since early Spring, and already have to replace the gasket...I am using this http://www.amazon.com/Standard-Gasket-Adhesive-Large-Kevlar/dp/B004MNW1TE

I am hopeful that this will last a lot longer! I don't do crazy high-heat cooks.  Never made a pizza, I sear around 700.  Sure, it has gone up a few times when I was not paying attention so is it just a quality thing? It is strange to me that given the cost of a new Egg they would use a crappy gasket.

Rant over.

Toronto ON

Comments

• tcracing
    tcracing Posts: 378
    Options
    You should have contacted @RRP he would have hooked you up with the best gasket made.
    George Foreman? Who? 
    Tim C. Panama City, Fl. 
    Large, Minimax-soon
  • Doc_Eggerton
    Doc_Eggerton Posts: 5,321
    Options

I haven't had gaskets on my three older Eggs for years.  You don't need them, just adjust the dome after removing the old gasket.  A little smoke escaped sometimes but I have no trouble holding low temps and long cooks.

XXL #82 out of the first 100, XLGE X 2, LBGE (gave this one to daughter 1.0) , MBGE (now in the hands of iloveagoodyoke daughter 2.0) and lots of toys

• Eggcelsior
    Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414
    Options
    If it's inside of 1 year from purchase, the gasket is still under warranty. Talk to your dealer.

The other option is aftermarket. There are 3 big ones. Rutland, Nomex, and Cotronics are all used as high-heat gaskets.