Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie - trouble hitting 225F

Options
myc5
myc5 Posts: 16
I'm a newbie with the kamado. I'm using a new Auplex kamado the size of a LBGE. Used weber kettle for 10 years, never smoked on it though.

I'm struggling hitting the 225F and 325F temps. I've tried lighting it 2 different ways.

First: Load up the coals and put 3 weber starter cubes buried and light them. Keep the lid open until the cubes are flammed up. Close the lid and have both top and bottom vents wide open. The problem with this technique is the fire starter cubes generate flames which raises temp on the thermometer quite quickly but drops once the cubes are consumed, and by then I find it's shot past 325 closer to 400F. Good for grilling, not for smoking.

Second: Put lump coals in the kamado. Put two handful of lump in a chimney starter and light it on my Weber performer with the gas assist. When coals are all grey, dump them into the kamado close the lid. This too ends up shooting up to above 350F.

So what's the best lighting technique to hit 225F or 325F?

Comments

• DaveRichardson
    DaveRichardson Posts: 2,324
    Options
    starting too hot!!!!  3 cubes is too much.  1 cube will do; make a small pit in the lump, place and light the cube, and place some larger lump pieces over top the cube.  Let it burn open for 10-15 minutes, then close the lid and let it get to good smelling smoke; approx. 45 minutes.  Bottom vent about 1/8 or less open and the top petals barely open....  Works for me every time!

LBGE #19 from North GA Eggfest, 2014