Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Torch newbee

Options
I just ordered a weed burner from Harbor Freight.  I imagine it might take a solid week or more for it to be delivered to my residence.  I have no experience with using a torch to light the lump so was wondering if there are any tips, specifically, adjusting lighting for slow cooks versus high temp cooks?  In other words do you spend more time torching to get the lump burning hotter for high temp cooks?  (might be a dumb question.)
LG BGE, KJ Jr, Smokin Bros. Premier 36 and Pizza Party Bollore

Comments

• tarheelmatt
    tarheelmatt Posts: 9,867
    Options
    You have to experiment and it depends on your lump.  For high heat, I hold the torch there for about a minute.  For L/S probably about half the time.  As soon as your done, drop the lid.  Also make sure bottom vent is open and top lid is off.  
    ------------------------------
    Thomasville, NC
    My YouTube Channel - The Hungry Hussey
    Instagram
    Facebook
    My Photography Site
  • WeberWho
    WeberWho Posts: 11,029
    edited February 2015
    Options