Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

complete beginner

Options
cap'n mike
cap'n mike Posts: 3
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a true rookie, although I've owned an egg for about 10 yrs I've never known how to use it. I purchased it at a garage sale and used it basicall as a normal grill on and off for yrs. It's an old one with no damper, thermometer, I use a firebrick for a top cap, and I've only just learned through these letters that I should use be using lump charcoal instead of bricquettes. I've just recently replaced the firebox and firering at a cost of 6x what I paid for the egg originally and I need all the help I can get getting rstarted on the right track. thanks for any offered , Cap'n Mike

Comments

• Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642
    Options
    cap'n mike, Just stay tuned in on the forum. You may get a variety of answers..but the basics are here. I "assume" you have BGE's parts numbers, and if you have the BGE with the registration copywrite seal "BGE" on the dome, then you have the hardened ceramic high temperature "EGG". If not, then use caution about higher than 500F for cooks.
    Yes..briquettes are only a emergency cook fuel. Stay with top quality oak or hardwood lump charcoal.
    Ask any questions you might have..Welcome to the forum.
    Char-Woody[p]

• Jo
    Jo Posts: 26
    Options
    cap'n mike,