Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Am I doing something wrong?

Options
I read about all of the overnighters and must confess I've never done one.  Whether I cook a butt at 250 or like today at about 290, they never take long.  My butts are generally under 10 pounds so maybe the overnight ones are much bigger? Today's was just over 6 pounds and took 6 hours.  Put it on at 10:30 and was pulled and ready to go by 5:00.  I'm still learning so would appreciate your thoughts.image

Comments

• henapple
    henapple Posts: 16,025
    Options
    Is it tasty...all that matters. I usually go 225-250.
    Green egg, dead animal and alcohol. The "Boro".. TN 
  • henapple
    Options
    Oh...it looks good. =D>
  • DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Options
    It does look good, regardless of how long it takes. Have you calibrated your thermometer?

They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • shtgunal3
    shtgunal3 Posts: 5,647
    Options
    If you are getting the results you are looking for then keep doing what you're doing.

LBGE,SBGE, and a Mini makes three......Sweet home Alabama........ Stay thirsty my friends .

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Options
    As everyone else is saying good results are good results. I go 2 hours per pound at 240* or so. Don't fix it if it ain't broke.

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• DaveRichardson
    Options