Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Beef ribs - first time, what should I buy?

Options
Looking to smoke/cook/egg some beef ribs shortly. I have never done these before. 

Does anyone have a recommendation on what type of beef rib to buy? I thinking I will just try a small amount to see how the family likes them.

Thanks
LBGE, Marietta, GA

Comments

• DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Options
    Uncut bone-on short ribs. Plate or Chuck work, plate if you have a choice.

They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • tulocay
    tulocay Posts: 1,737
    Options
    Thanks @DMW
    LBGE, Marietta, GA
  • SGH
    SGH Posts: 28,791
    edited October 2014
    Options
    We all have different taste and preferences. That said I prefer the massive "Dino" ribs. All are excellent though. I'm just real fond of the ribeye on a stick my brother.

Location- Just "this side" of Biloxi, Ms.

Status- Standing by.

The greatest barrier against all wisdom, the stronghold against knowledge itself, is the single thought, in ones mind, that they already have it all figured out. 

• Shiff
    Shiff Posts: 1,835
    Options
    If you want very meaty ribs, normally the Chuck Short Ribs or Plate Ribs are the ones to get.  If you have a cooperative butcher, you can probably get meaty Beef Back Ribs (ribeye on a stick as @sgh says).  Most butchers only leave on a little meat so they call the rest of it at much higher prices.