Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Ozark Oak and Rockwood - Anywhere to buy cheap?

Options

OK as a newbie I am sure this topic has been tossed around many times, but I did a search on the forum and cannot find exactly what I am looking for. 

Does anyone know where to buy Ozark Oak or Rockwood lump cheaper than firecraft.com?  I live in NW Georgia and can find Rockwood locally at the same price as firecraft, but cannot find anyone who sells Ozark Oak other than online.  With everyone raving about how good these brands are I really want to try them, but have not brought myself to pay $1/lb for lump and also have to order $100 worth to get the free shipping.   Might breakdown and buy a bag of Rockwood to try to get me started, but really hope I can find these brands cheaper.

Thanks in advance for your help. 

Northwest GA, Large BGE (w/Nest), Plate Setter

Comments

• Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Options
    It seems that $20ish is the average for a 20lb bag of RW unless buying a pallet quantity. Unless you live near a Harps or on @henapple traveling lump route OO also is averaged at $1 per lb. All that said I will gladly pay the $1 a lb for the quality of those 2 lumps. My closet RW is 2hr away but on a sales route so I buy 8-10 bags at a time

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • johnkitchens
    johnkitchens Posts: 5,227
    edited September 2014
    Options