Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Hot Tubbed Tri Tip

Options
Hawg Fan
Hawg Fan Posts: 1,517
edited August 2014 in EggHead Forum
Decided to cook tri tip at 5:00 this evening and I didn't have time to thaw the one I had in the freezer, so I hot tubed the frozen hunk of meat for about an hour. I've never done this before, but I read on the forum this week where someone uses their SV to thaw steaks, so I gave it a try. I cooked the Jack Stack Cheesey Corn on the Small while the tri tip was in the hot tub. Used the Santa Maria rub and did a reverse sear on the tri tip. The tri tip was more tender than usual. Don't know if it was better quality meat or the hot tub, but I learned something today. I forgot to get a picture of the tri tip on the Egg.

Any road will take you there if you don't know where you're going.

Terry

Rockwall, TX

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,897
    Options
    Looks delicious! I'm a big advocate of hot tubbing, but for the benefit it gives to producing perfectly grilled medium rare steaks and prime rib time after time. I never thought about doing that to merely thaw meat, Good job!
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Dyal_SC
    Dyal_SC Posts: 6,056
    Options
    Nicely done! I like to hot tub larger hunks of beef as well.
  • KiterTodd
    KiterTodd Posts: 2,466
    Options
    Hot Tub?

Are you talking about actually using a hot tub?  Or is this something else...

And if so, how do you seal it up if you don't have a vacuum sealer?
    LBGE/Maryland
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options

KiterTodd said:
    Hot Tub?