Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoking Hot Links?

Options
QDude
QDude Posts: 1,052
I have to do 30 pounds of them for a company picnic.  I have never done them before but I am guessing it should be no different than doing brats.  Any suggestions?  Do I cook them direct or indirect?  Rub or no rub?  What about temp?  Thanks for your help!  I want this cook to go well or forever face ridicule from coworkers!

Northern Colorado Egghead since 2012.

XL BGE and a KBQ.

Comments

• Sardonicus
    Sardonicus Posts: 1,700
    edited July 2014
    Options

We use "Moo and Oink" brand hot links. The unhealthiest (and tastiest) casing-embraced substance known to mankind. 

I do 'em indirect at about 400 degrees.  No particular reason - I grill 'most everything slow.

If you must have grill marks, do them direct.  Grill marks won't make them taste better - just kinda purty, is all.

As for rub . . . that's like putting a nightgown on Beyoncé.

What would be the point?

"Too bad all the people who know how to run the country are busy driving cabs and barbecuing."      - George Burns

• Hotch
    Hotch Posts: 3,564
    Options

If they are already pre-cooked I find that grilling direct @ 350 or so, gives a better snap on the casings.image

Large BGE, MiniMAX BGE, 2 Mini BGE's, R&V Fryer, 36" Blackstone Griddle, Camp Chef Dual Burner 40K BTU Stove
    BGE Chiminea
    Prosper, TX
  • QDude
    QDude Posts: 1,052
    Options

We use "Moo and Oink" brand hot links. The unhealthiest (and tastiest) casing-embraced substance known to mankind.