Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

NEED HELP WITH RIBEYES

Options
Hi - I bought some thick (1.5inch) ribeyes to make for company tomorrow night.  Just did a test run with the recipe I found in the BGE cook book (I am new to BGE) and followed it cooking the steak 550 degrees for 3 mins a side, for medium rare temp.  It did turn out medium rare, though my wife and I like our steaks a little more charred on the outside than it turned out with this recipe.  Does anyone have any suggestions about the right temperature (and cooking times) to get this effect?

Thanks!  

Jeremy Perelman
Scarsdale, NY

Comments

• travisstrick
    travisstrick Posts: 5,002
    Options
    Cook to temp, not to time. 140ish for med rare.
    Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
  • hapster
    hapster Posts: 7,503
    Options
    Go caveman right on the coals for the same amount of time... Much better char and flavor on the outside and the same tender juicy results inside.
  • marysvilleegger
    Options
  • GreenWave36
    GreenWave36 Posts: 132
    Options
    hapster you mean put the steaks directly on the coals with no grate?  would putting more coals in the BGE, all the way up to the grate have the same result?
  • Nanook
    Nanook Posts: 846
    Options
    REVERSE SEAR -cook indirect at 250*-275* -pull steaks at 108*-112* (rare, med-rare) and tent loosely -remove PS and get temp to 650*-700* -dab steaks with paper towel before searing -sear 1 1/2 min per side -serve immediately
    GWN
  • travisstrick
    travisstrick Posts: 5,002
    Options