Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How do you apply wood chips ?

Options
Hello all !

I'm quite new at BGE and generally smoking style BBQ is not that popular in the EU region I live. But I somehow like it, other family members are getting used to it - they have to ;)

I usually put some wood chips on before I put meat on. This requires me to remove the grid and then avoiding the plate setter. However the wood chunks are gone after few minutes which seems a short period when compared to a cook of several hours. Consequently this leads me to frequently open the dome, somehow lift up the iron (with the meat on) and throw in some more chips.

How do you apply smoking wood chips ? Do you have modified grids that have some sort of opening ?

What about smoking steaks ? Lifting up the CI grid seems to be a trick job to do as its heavy, plus its at 550+°F at that point ?

Thank,
Marko

Comments

• Teedoff
    Teedoff Posts: 65
    Options
    I usually mix the chips or chunks in with the lump as I load up the egg so it continues to heat the smoke wood as it burns and I don't have to keep adding more.
    Decatur, AL
  • TexanOfTheNorth
    TexanOfTheNorth Posts: 3,951
    Options
    If you can get them, use chunks instead of chips and like @Teedoff said, mix them in with your lump.