Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing recipes by following Big Green Egg at:

Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #EGGhead4Life.

In Atlanta? Come visit Big Green Egg headquarters, see our new showroom and check out the History of the EGG Museum and Culinary Center!  3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340.

Andouille taste test / comments thus far

This isn't my first go at making sausage. It is my first time absolutely alone and my first time using the kitchen aid grinder. My first thoughts are - buy a traditional grinder. The two size grind plates are limiting, and the stuffer has an exceedingly hard time passing anything larger. You could sell the grinder if you decide sausage isn't for you, I don't know that anyone will care about the kitchen aid attachement. You 'can' stuff through a traditional grinder, but I think I'm leaning toward a tube stuffer. If you are only ever going to make fairly fine grain sausage, you may get away with the kitchen aid.

I got about 4.5 of 5 lbs stuffed. So I had some to enjoy. This will make wonderful andouille. I look forward to smoking it Tuesday.

On a roll with some brown mustard and homemade sauerkraut.

Comments

• WeberWhoWeberWho Posts: 3,529
    Good lookin sandwich
  • Richard FlRichard Fl Posts: 8,079

Nice looking sammie. Like to use the sausage in gumbo.I have the KA and attachments also and find little cumbersome to use.  Don't do enough sausage to need large units.  Mind sharing the sausage recipe?

• GriffinGriffin Posts: 7,423
    Would also love to see your recipe. If you get a dedicated sausage stuffer, it will make stuffing sausage a pleasure instead of a chore. So much easier.

Richardson, Texas