Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Spicy Pickled Okra

Got six jars of spicy pickled okra done today. Like the candied jalapenos, this is my first try at this so I only did 2 lbs. of okra. I used a hot thai pepper, some chopped garlic and dill weed in each jar; along with a water/vinegar brine. These will need to sit for a couple of weeks before I try them. Can't wait to garnish a bloody mary with some of these

imageimage
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well, "spa-Peggy" is kind of like spaghetti. I'm not sure what Peggy does different, if anything. But it's the one dish she's kind of made her own.

Comments

• Aquacop
    Aquacop Posts: 481
    Yum
    LBGE 2013 Located in Savannah, Georgia
  • cortguitarman
    cortguitarman Posts: 2,061
    Nice. We were just disgusting some summer canning plans today. We are going to try homemade enchilada sauce when tomatoes come in.
    Mark Annville, PA
  • Canugghead
    Canugghead Posts: 11,407
    Looks good, you're on a roll John! btw, that pineapple looks ripe enough for grilling!
    canuckland
  • Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Those remind of a product here called Wickles. They are dill pickle slices in a spicy juice with the a couple of red peppers in each jar. Very good and spicy

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • Looks good, you're on a roll John! btw, that pineapple looks ripe enough for grilling!