Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pizza Question

Options
Jcorn
Jcorn Posts: 4
I am new to the BGE world after toying for the past 1.5 years with an Akorn. I loved my pizza on the Akorn but always seemed to burn the bottom of the crust on pie 2 & 3. I plan on doing my first pizza on the egg thus w/e. Any suggestions on how to avoid repeating when using the BGE?

Comments

• bigguy136
    bigguy136 Posts: 1,362
    Options

Welcome jcorn.

I'm sure others more experienced will chime in but I found I need to change my pizza dough recipe to a one without much sugar.

I hope this helps. Also do a search for zippylip or paqman

http://eggheadforum.com/discussion/987401/x/p1#

http://eggheadforum.com/discussion/1141565/finally-the-pizza-dough-recipe-i-was-looking-for/p1

Big Lake, Minnesota

2X Large BGE, 1 Mini Max, Stokers, Adjustable Rig

• fusionhq
    fusionhq Posts: 1,707
    Options
    First two minutes on parchment paper. Then slide it out. Also make sure the egg and stone are completely warmed up before first pie. One more thing. Wipe pizza stone with damp rag between pies.
  • fusionhq
    fusionhq Posts: 1,707
    Options
    If it means anything I use Publix pre made dough.
  • Eggcelsior
    Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414
    Options
    If your subsequent pizzas are burning, your stone is likely getting too hot. What temp are you cooking at? Do you have an air gap between the stone and heat deflector?

One option is to wipe the stone with a wet towel right before you put the pizza on.
  • grege345
    grege345 Posts: 3,515
    Options
    Jcorn said: