Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket Advice Solicited

Options
DMW
DMW Posts: 13,832
Just picked up this 14lb Superior Angus Beef Choice from Restaurant Depot. It is nice and floppy, more so than any I've done before. I've never done one this large before and have a few questions.

1) I'd like to try just salt/pepper. What ratio, 50/50?

2) Temp - I'm thinking 250* dome, setting up the PS so the opening is toward the hinge. Put the point end back toward the hinge.

3) Rough timing. Plan for 1.5 hr / lb with buffer for FTC?

Thanks in advance,
imageimage
They/Them
Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker

Comments

• Eggcelsior
    Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414
    Options
    1)Yes

2)Yes, temp can even go to 275 if you want.

3)Yes, roughly. The last one I did that big(15 untrimmed to 12 trimmed) went for a little under 1 hour/lb. They can have a mind of their own.

How much per lb? I have yet to stop by the one here in Baltimore.
  • DMW
    Options
    @Eggcelsior Thanks for the confirmations. It was $3.10/lb, they also had regular Choice (not SAB) for $2.85/lb, I liked this one for it's feel.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • cazzy
    cazzy Posts: 9,136
    Options
    That's a great looking brisket!