Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Altitude and Egg Temperatures

Uncle Phil
Uncle Phil Posts: 669
edited January 2014 in EggHead Forum
I have been Egging for over five years now. I have encouraged many folks to invest in the Egg and all are most pleased. Recently, one of my friends here in Florida and my nephew who lives at 8000 ft in Colorado both presented the same problem. They can't seem to get their Eggs above 400 degrees. I asked the normal questions; is  your egg cleaned out? Is your gasket in good shape? All answers were, yes. If you live in Colorado and are reading this post, do you have a similar problem? It is beyond me why they can't get higher temps. All are using good and dry lump. Ok, Egg people, let's get these folks an answer.

Uncle Phil

Comments

• Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Airflow? Wiggle rod?

I hate it when I go to the kitchen for food and all I find are ingredients!                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Michael 
    Central Connecticut 

• Is the firebox turned the right way with the hole at the bottom lining up with the vent door?
    Pentwater, MI
  • ibanda
    ibanda Posts: 553
    edited January 2014