Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Chef Alarm from Thermaworks

I'm not an expert turkey cooker, and I've read that there is a fairly narrow margin of internal temperature of a turkey between done and overdone (dry). I read the magic temperature is 157.  Resting brings it up a bit.  So, I bought a Chef Alarm to alert me at the perfect temperature.  That relieves me of opening the dome multiple times and making several probes with the thermapen.  I also see a lot more uses for it .... prime rib, pork tenderloin, etc.

Does anybody else use this gadget?

Dripping Springs, Texas.
Just west of Austintatious

Comments

• Hoov
    Hoov Posts: 264
    I've been looking at that model and the TW8060. Looks to be built well and has good reviews. No experience with it though, sorry.
    - Proud owner of a Large BGE
    - Norman, OK
  • I'm with you on not having to open the dome multiple times. I just used my Maverick when I did my turkey.

Is that the Chef Alarm from Thermaworks? Looks like it only has a meat probe and no grill temp probe.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Well, "spa-Peggy" is kind of like spaghetti. I'm not sure what Peggy does different, if anything. But it's the one dish she's kind of made her own.
    I gave both of mine away. I am in the open the dome and polk method. But that is just me. I do agree with the 157 but your legs (turkey legs, don't care about your legs) are pointed to the back of the Egg so you get to the 180 area at the same time.