Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
As we round out National BBQ Month, we hope you’ve gotten to try some new recipes that will keep you cooking all summer long. Check out our Smoking Basics Publication. For delicious recipes, try Justin Moore’s BBQ Shrimp, Greg Bate’s BBQ Dr. Pepper Chicken, Bobby Flay’s Chicken Thighs or Dr. BBQ’s new Maple Brined Pork Chops. Need dessert? Finish off your meal with some Planked Twinkies. Get ready for some fun summer happenings!

Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new showroom and check out the museum and culinary center too! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

First Turkey Breast

I am a relative newbie to the BGE (Large).  Going on 2 months now of EGGing and loving it!  Have done numerous Butts, Pork Loins, Hams, Ribs, Tri Tips and Chickens so far, all with great sucess.  Having said that, I received a special request this past weekend from SWMBO, for a Smoked Turkey Breast. Had not done of those on the BGE yet, so read all I could on this forum and went with this: 300 - 325, Indirect, apple juice in a disposable aluminum water pan and apple chunks for smoke.  On the Breast, which was 8.5 lbs, did a 24 hour brine of apple juice, maple syrup, kosher salt and brown sugar, then rinsed, dried and rubbed with a "Simon and Garfunkel" Rub(Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme) about 2 hours prio to cooking.

I anticipated about 30 minutes per pound, so about a 4 hour cook was what I expected.  In the middle of the yard work the Maverick starts beeping at the 2 hour mark!  I was surprised and also concerned that SWMBO was not back from the store with the rest of the turkey fixins yet.  Had no choiced but to FTC it for a couple hours.  I have to say, it was pretty awesome and SWMBO loved it(always good to keep SWMBO happy!!).