Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
It feels as though we’ve waited forever for college football to start, and finally the wait is over! Check out our tailgating page for recipes that are sure to become fan favorites. As an added bonus, the day before Labor Day is National Bacon Day and we don’t know about you, but we like putting bacon on anything and everything, so we’ll definitely be celebrating that. It's time to think about getting out to one of the many #EGGfests around the country - see a list here

Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

I've done smaller deep dish pizzas before in the older 7" diameter ceramic deep dish pizza stone. I recently picked up the new 14" ceramic deep dish pizza stone and this is my first attempt. I used the recipe for Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza found on the BGE website. For my toppings I used pepperoni and imported ham. 

BGE partnered with the King Arthur Flour Company for this recipe. The KAF pizza dough recipe was modeled after Pizzeria Uno. The dough used: All-purpose flour, luke warm water, vegetabe oil, olive oil, melted butter, yellow corn meal, instant yeast & table salt.

The ingredients are all combined in the bowl of a stand mixer and are mixed at medium-low speed for 7 minutes.

The dough is done mixing.

The dough is placed in a dough doubling pail where it is allowed  to rise for 1 hour.

The risen dough is turned out and rolled into a "disc" shape. That was the idea anyway, I am not great at rolling out circular shapes of dough.

The dough is placed in the BGE 14" deep dish pizza stone, which has been sprayed with non-stick baking spray & coated with olive oil. The dough is shaped twice with 15 minute rests in between.

The pan & dough go on the Egg for 10 minutes. The Egg has been pre-heated to 425 and is set up for indirect grilling using the plate setter installed legs up. The dough is partially cooked for 10 minutes & then goes back to the Kitchen to get topped.