Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What am I doing wrong smoking?

Options
I was cooking ribs and a brisket over the weekend, but couldn't get any smoke from the wood chunks I used.  I got my Egg up to 250 degrees and put a couple of apricot wood chunks into the Egg, but I never got any smoke. Even after cooking for 4 plus hours, there was still no smoke. I replaced the wood chunks with wood chips soaked in water.  The wood chips smoked, but for only for a short period of time. What is the best way to get smoke using wood chunks and wood chips?  How do you get the smoke to last? 

Comments

• dpittard
    dpittard Posts: 126
    Options
    Was there no smoke flavor or was it just that you didn't see smoke? As long as you have smoke flavor, you actually want to no see any smoke, or very little.

LBGE with a massive wish list
    Athens, Ga.
  • Cyclops42
    Cyclops42 Posts: 64
    Options
    I use chunks, not soaked in water and put them in different levels in the lump so as the lump burns down it will catch another different chunk of wood for more continuous smoking during the cook.

Atlanta, Ga. LBGE and Mini BGE

Wants:  More time and beer.....

• Scottborasjr
    Scottborasjr Posts: 3,494
    Options
    I know nothing about apricot wood but perhaps it has a high burn temp and with the low temp you were keeping your egg at the lump never got the chunks hot enough to smoke? Just a thought, which I have many of, and very few are logical.
    I raise my kids, cook and golf.  When work gets in the way I'm pissed, I'm pissed off 48 weeks a year.