Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Overwhelmed Newbie...First Post

After about a month of doing what seems like a ton of research, I finally purchased and assembled (successfully) my Medium Big Green Egg!!  With the purchase I also got an egg nest, a plate setter, an ash tool, an egg cover, and a bag of BGE lump.  On order is a BBQ Guru Digiq DX2 , Raging River and Dizzy Dust seasonings from Dizzy Pig, and a thermapen.  I have little to no experience in BBQ, and little experience with regular grilling on a gas grill.  With all of that in mind...here are a few newbie questions.  Any help is much appreciated. 

I have ZERO tools or wood working skills, so are there any ideas out there for an economical grill cart (as the Egg is already in a nest)?  

When I go to remove the egg cover from the egg, the dome cover somehow gets caught in the cover and comes off of the egg.  I have almost dropped the dome cover twice.  Am I just being completely stupid, or is anyone else having this problem, and how do I fix it?

If I want to cook indirect, as soon as I light the coals, do I then put the place setter in the egg, or do I wait until the egg has gotten to the desired cooking temperature?

For those of you out there who own the Digiq DX 2, what are the specific start up procedures for the egg, and what position should I have the daisy wheel on?  

Is a V rack a highly recommended accessory for pork butts and brisket?