Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Spare Rib HELP

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I’ve had bad luck with my ribs. I think b/c I had problems keeping a temp. of 200 – 250 degrees in the past. Now that I got that figured out, I’m ready to take another crack at it.[p]I’m from South Louisiana now living in Atlanta. I can boil you seafood like nobody’s business, but I’m just learning about BBQ (low and slow). In the past, the ribs went on the BGE naked (at around 350 – 375) then I added sauce at the end. This was good but not FALLING OFF THE BONE. Hopefully, my new found mastery of the temp. will fix that problem. [p]Here’s the thing, what’s the deal with rubs?
1. If I use a rub, will the ribs come out with a hard crust? Will it be more about the rub than the rib?
2. I see many rubs reference plain yellow mustard. Is this used just to keep the rub on the ribs (while imparting a bit of flavor)?
3. I’ve decided to use “Dizzy Pig Rub” (where do you buy that?) or “Nature Boy’s” rub … any thoughts on these two?
4. Can someone point me to a definitive pork spare rib recipe or method of cooking? (I’ve scoured the internet and this forum but come up with a hodgepodge of stuff)[p]Thanks in advance for any insight.

Comments

• Unknown
    Options