Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

3 Sholders at Once

Options
Spreen
Spreen Posts: 3
edited August 2012 in Pork
I'm still pretty new to the egg, but I did a pork shoulder a few weeks back following Elder Ward's method (find it on the Whiz's site) and it turned out great.  I plan on doing 3 shoulders this Saturday.  Question I have is on cook time; the shoulders are 6 to 7 lbs. each so can i still figure on 1.5 to 2 hours per pound based on a single shoulder, or do I need to figure it on 20 lbs. of meat?  I know temp makes a difference but I'm thinking at about 250 everything should be done in 12 hours easy.  Any thoughts?

Comments

• bertscampers
    Options
    I'm also new but I would think since they are individual pieces and the temp will be set you should consider the time on 6-7 lbs.  If its one piece it take much longer for the heat to reach the middle of the meat.
  • Spreen
    Spreen Posts: 3
    Options
    I'm also new but I would think since they are individual pieces and the temp will be set you should consider the time on 6-7 lbs.  If its one piece it take much longer for the heat to reach the middle of the meat.

That's what I'm thinking.  Just wasnt sure if anybody had experience doint this and learned something different. Thanks
  • Mighty_Quinn
    Mighty_Quinn Posts: 1,878
    Options
    Yes, take the individual piece weights for a time estimate, not the collective weight...
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,385
    edited August 2012
    Options