Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first BGE Pulled Pork on Saturday

Options
CowboyColin
CowboyColin Posts: 1
edited August 2012 in Pork
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here.

I just got my BGE last Sunday and am breaking it in this weekend. I'm having some people over for some pulled pork and here's how I wanted to plan, along with some questions for fellow eggheads:

If I want to keep the temp between 225 and 250 for about 7-8 hours, with a 9ish lb shoulder, how much wood should I use? Again I've never smoked anything with the BGE, so I don't know if I'm needing to replenish wood on a regular basis? Any help with this?

I have seasoning down, no problem with that. I prefer my meat, in general, with more of a sweeter taste than spicy or salty, so I wanted to incorporate raisins somehow. For this I was thinking just adding them to the final "pulled" product, but you all may have better ideas.

Please let me know what you think, pictures will come the day of. Thanks.

Comments

• JWBurns
    JWBurns Posts: 344
    Options
    Pork Shoulder:
    275 grid, indirect on V Rack with drip pan. Spacer under pan. 1.5 / 2 hours per pound typically. Mustard, Dizzy Dust, and Smoke. Fat side down. Pull around 195, FTC. Spritz at hour 8 if desired. 

Those are my cook notes for how I do a butt.

I smoke for the first two hours, you don't want to over do it on the smoke. I use cherry and apple wood.

I think your timing may be a bit short.. I'd expect a longer cook time at those temps. Personally, I like to hold mine FTC for a few hours before serving.