Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing recipes by following Big Green Egg at:

Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #EGGhead4Life.

In Atlanta? Come visit Big Green Egg headquarters, see our new showroom and check out the History of the EGG Museum and Culinary Center!  3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340.

butt, wait. this is my first time

anezanez Posts: 131
edited August 2012 in Pork
Just put my first butt on the egg, 5.5 pounds (got the egg saturday). Rubbed with mustard and dizzy pig original last night. egg stabilized at 285. indirect heat. nothing to do now but to sit back and wait. loving this big green thing. 

Comments

• GriffinGriffin Posts: 7,423
    Sounds like you are off to a good start. Don't forget the pictures or none of it really happened. ;)

Richardson, Texas

Griffin's Grub or you can find me on Facebook

The Supreme Potentate, Sovereign Commander and Sultan of Wings

• anezanez Posts: 131
    haha, yup, will do. my wife laughed at me when i took a pic of it before putting it on the egg. she just doesn't get it ... yet. 
    i tossed in 5 chunks of apple wood. too much? too little? add more as cook goes?
  • lousubcaplousubcap Posts: 9,713
    i tossed in 5 chunks of apple wood. too much? too little? add more as cook goes?

I wouldn't add any more and if too much then too late...just make a few notes so you can make some adjustments next time.  Welcome to the cult-go easy on the Kool-Aid.  Lots of people willing to help-just ask away.  And remember to enjoy the journey.
    Louisville;  L & S BGEs 
    Pit Barrel Cooker
    ABC- 
    thanks, lou
  • Awesome, way to jump in! Can't wait to hear the results!
  • BuckeyeBobBuckeyeBob Posts: 664