Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smaller bits of used lump - when to use them up?

MikeG
MikeG Posts: 174
edited February 2012 in EggHead Forum

As a newbie I pull all the spent coal out of the firebox before loading up for each new cook.  The last cook was pork and beef ribs together (yum!) which left me with a quart or so of round, smallish bits say 1" in diameter. 

Do you chuck them? Reserve them for a certain type cook?   Friday I'm cooking 2 8lb pork butts plus 4 lbs boneless chuck beef rib roasts (lots of meat) and don't know whether to toss the small bits in or if it will increase chances I'll choke off the air holes in the FB.

Comments

• R2Egg2Q
    R2Egg2Q Posts: 2,136
    I put them in for any cook usually in the middle or top layer and avoid getting little bits of lump in the holes in the sides of the firebox.  My Mini Egg also seems to love those little bits of lump.  

XL, Large, Small, Mini Eggs, Shirley Fabrication 24x36 Patio, Humphrey's Weekender, Karubecue C-60, MAK 1-Star General, Hasty Bake Gourmet, Santa Maria Grill, Webers: 14" WSM, 22.5" OTG, 22.5" Kettle Premium, WGA Charcoal, Summit S-620 NG

Bay Area, CA
  • I always throw them back in on top of the new lump
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669
    I just use my gridlifter and steer the lump to allow the ash to fall and dump in new lump on top. I do have a HighQue fire grate. Before the fire grate I did the same thing. You do want to watch the holes and be sure they are not plugged on the side of the firebox.