Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lump Charcoal

SLMWinds
SLMWinds Posts: 17
edited November 2011 in EggHead Forum

Is there any sort of consensus on what brand(s) or type(s) of lump charcoal are best for the egg? I'm certain this answer varies from person to person but I figured there may be some types that are recommended or not recommended. I'm new to lump charcoal so I've been using whatever is at the grocery store. Is the BGE type worthy of use for highest quality? If there aren't certain types that are agreed upon, throw out whatever works the best for you! I will certainly be trying many different types but I was hoping you guys with more experience can give me some good places to start my tests!

Comments

• Shiff
    Shiff Posts: 1,835
    I use Royal Oak as my standard charcoal.  Walmart sells it seasonally for $6.47 for a 10 pound bag.  Wicked Good is the one I use for long low and slows since it is more dense and burns slower.  BGE lump is made by Royal Oak so there is no reason to spend the  premium price - just buy Royal Oak.  Many other brands of lump are also made by Royal Oak.  Be sure to get the USA made Royal Oak.

A handy place for charcoal reviews is http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lumpindexpage.htm?bag
    Large BGE
    Barry, Lancaster, PA
  • Thanks for the input! I'll certainly give Royal Oak a try. Are there any websites where you can order Royal Oak (or any other good kinds) of lump? I am getting "out of season" now, but grilling for me is a year round activity!
  • Shiff