Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Go Go Gadget . . . why?

The_Grill_Sergeant
The_Grill_Sergeant Posts: 87
edited October 2011 in EggHead Forum
A curiosity . . .

Why are a lot of you guys stoked on these electronic temp control gadgets when the Egg seems to be perfectly capable of maintaining temp on its own?  Sure, I'm an Egg noob, but the times I've used it, it seemed like a no brainer.  Plus, I believe one of the biggest selling points when asked "Why Egg and not Traeger?" is that the Egg requires no 110.

Thoughts?

Sarge
Egg Head in Klamath Falls, Oregon

Comments

• The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    edited October 2011
    As good as the Egg is, it is possible for anyone to have their fire go out in the middle of the night and ruin a cook.  It gives many folks peace of mind.  Personally, I get distracted and like knowing that someone is watching while I"m not.  There is also the capability to monitor and control your cook from your smart phone or computer, which some folks like. And then there is this: The Book of Overnight Fires

The Naked Whiz
  • stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    edited October 2011
    as good as those powered draft units are, they can also still go out overnight too.  has happened more than once on the 'old' bge forum. last summer seemed to be a spate of them.

basically comes down to 'i like toys' or 'i don't need toys'.  to each his own.

but there is no fail-safe method for keeping a fire going, even with the powered draft units. just build a decent fire, and let her rip