Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Best method for Prime Rib

Options
Harleydog77
Harleydog77 Posts: 217
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
My dad dropped off a whole prime rib last night. He has had it in his freezer for quite a while (Booooooo!) I would like to cook this on the egg. I have never done this before. I would like to get everyone's opinions on how to cook it, whether I should defrost the meat and try to dry age it etc. I do not have any experience with dry aging, so if you suggest that I do so please let me know what I will need to do to make this happen. I would appreciate you input.

Thanks!

Comments

• Grandpas Grub
    Grandpas Grub Posts: 14,226
    Options

End Sear...

Thirdeye's Standing Rib Roast Recipe

primerib.jpg

I did not do then end sear on this cook.

primeribcut.jpg

GG
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,888
    Options
    I agree in the reverse sear as well, but I also have learned that at least a 70 minute hot tub or even 90 minutes if it is large does wonders for a chunk-o-cow that big!

As for dry aging it at this point I wouldn't bother as it sounds like that beef may already have issues from been frozen for a long period. Save the aging effort for a fresher cut would be my suggestion.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Harleydog77
    Harleydog77 Posts: 217
    Options
    Thanks for the advice. I am excited to cook this chunk of beef. I hope it turns out!
  • Grandpas Grub
    Options

I didn't think about hot tub'ng, might be a great idea.

Ron, post your Au Jus recipe if you have it handy, it's been a long time.

Kent