Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket

Options
brenkj
brenkj Posts: 21
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a BGE newbie (first cook last night) and I'm thinking I might try a brisket next. I like to smoke my briskets at about 225 and it usually takes 15 hours or so at that temp. Am I going to be able to cook that long on the BGE without having to replenish the charcoal? I not, what's the best way to add charcoal in the middle of a cook?

Thanks.

Comments

• brenkj
    brenkj Posts: 21
    Options
    Also, is it a good idea to put a pan of liquid inside the plate setter to keep everything moist and help hold down the heat?

Thanks.
  • fire egger
    fire egger Posts: 1,124
    Options
    Loaded well up into the fire ring, my large has gone well over 24 hours at 250-275, shouldnt be any problem,enjoy your new egg!!
  • fire egger
    fire egger Posts: 1,124
    Options
    not nessesary with the egg,it reatins moisture very well! I usually put a drip pan or foil just to keep the mess off of it
  • walrusegger
    walrusegger Posts: 314
    Options
    Of course there are some other variables that could influence things (weather, temp fluctuations, etc...), but if you have a full load of lump, you'll probably only burn half of it in 15 hours in mild weather like most of the country gets this time of year.
  • Egghead Willie
    Options
    As the others said if you load up with lump you will not need to add. I've never added a water pan as the food coming off the egg is so dang moist.
  • srq2625
    srq2625 Posts: 262
    Options